Oral Health Assessment
As of January 2007, California law (Education Code Section 49452.8) now requires that a child entering kindergarten (or 1st grade if they did not attend kindergarten) have an oral health (dental) assessment by May 31 of their kindergarten school year. The law specifies that the assessment must be performed by a licensed dentist or other licensed or registered dental health professional. Oral health assessments that have happened within the 12 months before your child enters school also meets this requirement. Download the forms below or contact the nurse or health aide for more information.
To protect the health of children, California law requires a physical health examination to be completed sometime during the 18 months prior to entering first grade. This requirement is often referred to as the CHDP physical (Child Health & Disability Prevention).
Obtaining a physical examination before entering kindergarten, when immunization boosters are needed, provides an opportunity to take care of both requirements at the same time. The CHDP program at the local health department provides free medical examinations to lower-income families.
As required by the Education Code, health screening is provided for students for:
The screenings are conducted in accord with the standards established by the State Department of Education and are under the supervision of the school nurse. Please notify the school nurse in writing if you do not wish to consent to screening examinations of your child.